Why Write

I found this web sight.  It gives tips on writing.  One of the articles deals with why people write. These are the questions posed and my answers.   https://paulsfantasywritings.com/

 

1. If these two reasons spark to write a novel, and what was it?  

 

I was abused when I was younger.  This sparked a need for escape.  Imagination was the escape.  As I got older it was easy when these images rolled around my head for days to write them down.  It was a way to stop thinking about them.  I guess as I accumulated more short stories I found a theme.  The same characters started to come up.  From there it was a curiosity.

 

2. If anyone has ever told you that you could (or could not) write a novel, and how you reacted to it?  

 

I don’t know that anyone said I could or could not write a novel.  It became a curiosity.  Could I actually write a whole book?  

 

My mother did encourage me once she read the first book I put together.  She is the reason I am still at writing and was the push I needed to put it out there.  

 

I will say the biggest doubt that I could actually write, any kind of story, came from my resource room teacher (yes I was held back in reading/writing and math).  I remember that she had been teaching me to spell the word, because.  Lots of vowels and few consonants.  It was a very hard word for me to learn.  Yes, I’m old enough to remember writing with paper and pencil, no spell-check.  Archaic I know.

 

Anyway, I remember her telling my mother that I would never learn to spell.  I would probably have to carry around a dictionary my whole life to be able to spell correctly.  I don’t remember what my mother told the teacher, but I remember when we left, she told me that I could do whatever I wanted.  

 

My family has several members with learning difficulties and I have always been thankful for that.  It has lead to the general belief; you can do whatever you want even if the experts say you can’t.  You just have to figure out how it works for you, and want too.

 

So, I learned the more I wrote and used a word the more likely I was to remember how to spell it.   I lot of the stories I wrote at that time became inundated with the word because.  I now know how to spell, because…. even without spell check.  I’m just a little rebellious that way.

 

 

Have you ever written? 

What did you write? 

What was it about?

Write a comment

Comments: 0